September 16, 2023
LJB Security Training
Completion of this one-day course of instruction meets or exceeds the training and safety course requirements of the State of Connecticut for all pistol permit applicants.
This class teaches safe handling of handguns and other firearms and includes live fire with both revolvers and semi-automatic pistols. Grey Wolf Consulting instructors are all certified through the NRA or other certifying agencies with extensive firearms training and real life experience.
The Core Topics Of Instruction Within This Program Include:
Upon successful completion of this course, participants will receive a certificate or letter of completion, which may be used to apply for a pistol permit within the State of Connecticut, Florida, and several other States.
Under State of Connecticut Law, applicants for a permit to carry a handgun (Pistol Permit) are required to perform the following steps:
1. Complete an approved firearms safety class (Also known as a Pistol Permit class).
2. Obtain a pistol permit application packet from their local authorities (Typically the Police Dept.).
3. Complete the pistol permit application and assemble the required documentation (Typically a copy of identification, birth certificate, letters of reference, letter or certificate of completion from a firearms instructor) and fingerprints.
4. Submit the required documents and application to the local issuing authority.
5. Submit to a thorough background check is completed. (Under current law, the local authority has 8 weeks to approve or deny the application. If no response is heard after 8 weeks inquire as to the status)
6. If approved, the applicant will receive what is referred to as a “TEMPORARY STATE PISTOL PERMIT”. This temporary pistol permit will NOT allow the purchase of a firearm and more importantly, it maintains a expiration period of 60 days. Therefore it is critical that once this Temporary State Pistol Permit is obtained that the applicant immediately apply to the State of Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection in Middletown, CT. to obtain their full State Pistol Permit within this 60 day period to avoid the need to start the entire process over again from the beginning.
7. If for some reason the application is denied, the applicant may appeal such denial to the State of Connecticut Board of Permit Examiners for reconsideration. (Note: By regulation, the applicant has a maximum of 90 days from the date of denial to appeal the decision, afterwards appeal through this board will not be possible.)
For additional information, please contact us at: firstname.lastname@example.org or 203.952.7815